NVQ Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety by City & Guilds

NVQ is not a course and there are no exams. To gain an NVQ qualification you develop a portfolio of evidence from your knowledge and experience that demonstrates you meet the required level of competence. Thus, you will need access to a workplace to develop the evidence required.
Unlike traditional classroom health and safety training courses, an NVQ qualification is work-based and involves the collection of evidence from your normal day-to-day activities. This means that candidates must be in a role that allows them to provide this. This will probably be individuals who have already acquired some experience, and candidates must be in a health and safety managerial position, able to influence the health and safety policy and practice of their organisation.
You can start your NVQ at any time and they typically take around a maximum of 24 months to complete.
Who is this qualification for?
This qualification is for learners who wish to demonstrate and develop their skills and knowledge in managing health and safety in the workplace. They will have an autonomous role in their organisation for managing health and safety policy and practice. They will report directly to or be part of the senior management team. Learners will recommend and implement changes relevant to their role. They will be aware of cost implications and budgetary control.
What does the qualification cover?
Allows learners to develop and demonstrate the skills required for employment and/or career progression in the occupational health and safety sector.
What accreditation does the qualification have?   
This qualification is accredited by The Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) - the world’s leading body for health and safety professionals. 
This means that learners will be eligible to enroll with IOSH and IOSH “Student Membership” for the duration of their studies and, on successful completion, they will meet the academic requirements for “Graduate Membership”
As IOSH is the only organisation in the world that offers “Chartered Membership” to health and safety practitioners, this can help members achieve the highest professional standards and gain international recognition.
This qualification was developed in association with Pro skills the UK and other awarding organisations.
What opportunities for progression are there?   
Enables learners to progress into employment, higher education, management qualifications, or to qualifications offered by İOSH.
Entry Requirements
There are no formal entry requirements for NVQs but:
•     It is helpful if you have already taken another health and safety course.
•     You need to have an advanced level of English language skills.
•     You need to be in a health and safety managerial position, able to influence the health and safety policy and practice of their organisation.
Age restrictions
City & Guilds does not accept candidates aged under 19 years for this qualification
To achieve the City & Guilds Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice, learners must achieve all 7 units in the qualification: 

601 Health and safety emergency procedures
602 Health and safety audits
603 A positive health and safety culture in an organisation
604 Organisational health and safety policy
605 Professional development and ethics in health and safety practice
606 Systems monitoring and risk control
607 Organisational health and safety strategy
Assessment for unit 605 Professional development and ethics in health and safety practice requires evidence to be collected over a period of 12 months
Learners can complete units in any order to best suit their current projects and workload.

Initial assessment 
To enroll on the City & Guilds NVQ certificate you will need to complete a short self-assessed questionnaire (Skill Scan) before we can accept you on the course. The questions are framed around the NVQ units and will help TCS to decide whether NVQs are right for you and if they are, which one. It will also help you identify any skills gaps, sections where you might have difficulty, and the best areas to start your evidence gathering. It will also help TCS to identify:
•    if you have any specific training needs,
•    any units you have already completed, or credit they have accumulated that is relevant to the qualification
We won't let you hand over any money until we're sure NVQs are right for you.
Assessment process 
Time Constraints:

You must finish your assessment within your registration period.  It usually takes a maximum of 24 months. 
NVQ's are broken down into units, covering core health and safety topics; each unit has its own assessment criteria and you gather evidence to demonstrate you have met the criteria. You will be assigned an NVQ assessor who will guide you on what you need to do and what evidence you need. Your assessor may set you tasks to help you gather the right evidence.
Evidence must be all your own work but is typically things such as documents, videos, photographs, witness statements, etc. Your work product could be:
•     risk assessments carried out by you
•     health and safety training devised and/or delivered by you
•     results of health and safety inspections conducted by you
•     results and findings of accident investigations carried out by you etc. 
These are just examples of what you may present; however, it is not a definitive list.
You might be assessed by:
•     direct observation of practice by a qualified assessor or by the expert witness for occupational-specific units
•     examining the evidence by an assessor
•     questioning or witness by an assessor
Using ELS platform you will be able to upload your evidence from anywhere at a time that suits you – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. After you upload your evidence your assessor can view and assess it online. You will achieve your NVQ when you have covered the required number of units and your achievements have been confirmed by internal and external verifiers.
This qualification is graded Pass/Refer.
Upon completion of the NVQ requirements, candidates will be awarded an official City and Guilds accredited NVQ Diploma Level 6 in Occupational Health and Safety Practice. A separate certificate will detail all individual units completed as part of the overall health and safety NVQ programme.


Register form

More course